Day # 4 So, now that you have your Master’s, Are you going back to Peru?

So, are you going back to Peru?

No, here it is home… I have been going back to Peru every three years , then every two years. But during the pandemic , I had to stay here , not traveling to Peru for a while, until finally , in March 2022, I went back…it was only for a week, but I was great! … So, I went back  In June with my daughter and then in December with the whole family. It was magical to spend the Holidays back at home, at my parents house. The three sisters were able to be together , celebrating Christmas in the house where we grew up, with our parents. We didn’t cook the classic dinner like my mom used to cook, instead we ordered in advance a delicious Peruvian Christmas Dinner. My dad and brother in law were the designated to pick it up.  At midnight , after hugs and kisses,  we all were on the third floor (la azotea) to see the fireworks. We couldn’t see that much because Lima is changing, big houses are now buildings… we are lucky my parents house is in a corner and we can still see the ocean (3 blocks away)… Next day , waking up with the sun … it’s summer now in South America … We  just had coffee for breakfast  and got ready to go to the beach … ceviche for lunch … “chifa” Chinese Peruvian food for dinner… 

It’s always nice to be back “en mi casa” at home , Lima, but it is also a nice feeling when you arrive in Chicago… breathe cold air , but we are back at home… 


3 responses to “Day # 4 So, now that you have your Master’s, Are you going back to Peru?”

  1. So nice to read about Peru. My family lived there 1998-2000. My husband was pastor at Union Church of Lima in Miraflores. During the years I have participated in Slice of Life, I have written about Peru from time to time. There were so many things I lived there and major life events that happened.

    Like

    • Hi Diane, oh Miraflores! My parents house , the house where I grew up, is in Magdalena. Next to Miraflores is San Isidro and the next “distrito” is Magdalena. It is on the coast as Miraflores. I don’t know if you remember Lima, but my house is at the end of Avenida del ejercito in the intersection with Avenida Brasil. That’s why my house is 3 blocks from ” La Costa Verde” – the highway next to the ocean. Peru has changed a lot in the last 10 years.
      Thanks,
      Sonia

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started